Thoughts – Sons of Kemet, attending a concert


Yesterday evening Sweetheart and I attended a concert in our local jazz club. The 4-man group consists of a saxophone, a tuba and two drummers. Their music and features is a mixture of jazz, rock, Caribbean folk and African music.

I did not bring a camera with me. I wanted to experience the concert in “real time” and not through the screen of a digital camera or smartphone.
I wanted to be there.
I wanted to enjoy the evening with Sweetheart at its fullest.

I did not want to disconnect from reality.
Not watching life on a screen.
I wanted to be in the middle of it.
Feel it.
Enjoy.
Listen.
Be a part of the crowd (= 50 people).

Somewhere halfway the concert Sweetheart whispered in my ear it would have been a great opportunity to make some great shots.
Yeah, thank you my Love for rubbing it in.

Damn it. My Olympus OM-D M-10 with the sweet 45m f1,8 or the cheapo CCTV lens, 35mm f1,7 came to mind.

Then I tried to look at the scene with Ilford HP5 Plus pushed to one or 2 stops and the Zuiko 50mm f1,8 in mind. Guess I could have pulled it off.
Without a shadow of a doubt I would have chosen for black and white.

Hnita Club - November 30th 2014 Smartphone
Hnita Club – November 30th 2014
Smartphone

Chase Jarvis once said the best camera you have is the one you have with you. So for the heck of it I dimmed the display of my smartphone out of respect and took 3 shots. Amazing what those cameras are capable of.

Hnita Club - November 30th 2014 Smartphone
Hnita Club – November 30th 2014
Smartphone

Sweetheart and I had a wonderful evening. The music was great, inspiring, hot and delicious.
Doing this with Sweetheart, as all our endeavors, an unforgettable moment.

The images are taken with my smartphone and thus by definition digital. Yet I wanted to write about this evening and share it with you.

Hnita Club - November 30th 2014 Smartphone
Hnita Club – November 30th 2014
Smartphone

So for once it does not matter. Isn’t the best camera the one you have with you?
So let it for once be a smartphone and the brand in my opinion completely irrelevant.
Believe me, it was one hell of a concert.

One thought on “Thoughts – Sons of Kemet, attending a concert”

Comments are closed.