Yashica Electro 35 GSN – The Arrival


Yesterday I checked the website of our postal service and my package containing the Yashica was scheduled to be delivered this morning.

Oh the anticipation, the excitement.
I felt like a little boy on Xmas Eve looking in awe at the colorful presents under the tree.

This morning at 10:15 am I checked the site again. It said the package had been delivered and signed for more than 45 minutes ago. I hadn’t seen a living soul let alone a postman so I ran outside and checked my letterbox. Maybe I hadn’t heard the doorbell ring and maybe the postman had left a notice.
Except for some invoices there was nothing in my mailbox.
Blimey.

So I phoned our postal services and all they could do was take note of my problem and create a ticket. They told me the investigation could take up to two weeks.

About an hour later my neighbor rang at my door.
“You are at home?” he asked, surprised.
“Yes indeed, I’m working at home today.”
“Look, I saw the postman this morning and took the liberty to accept your parcel so you don’t have to run to the post office tomorrow.”
What a relief.

I thanked him and ran back inside and opened the package. A few minutes later I was holding the Yashica Electro 35 GSN in my hands. It is in mint condition and a beauty.

There is a red and an orange led located on the top of the camera. They indicate under (orange)- or overexposure (red) and you change aperture accordingly. So it is easy to check if your exposure is within the correct limits before you hold it to your eye and shoot. This and the very clear lines for hyperfocal focusing makes this camera ideal for street photography.

Yashica Electro 35

I found focusing very easy albeit this is my first rangefinder camera. Releasing the shutter takes quite an end, the release button goes down deep but the release itself is almost inaudible.
The camera is big and heavy and feels very natural in my hands.

For a complete review of this camera click the link to the excellent Shotonfilm WordPress blog.

At noon I signed off from work and drove to the nearby cemetery to take some test shots. Nothing fancy, just to check if everything works as it should.

At this moment the film is drying but the negs seem okay. I don’t think I’ll be able to scan them this evening though. I’m going out with Sweetheart.

Yashica Electro 35 GSN

5 thoughts on “Yashica Electro 35 GSN – The Arrival”

  1. Enjoy!! I didn’t even know that the Aux. wide and tele lenses existed. Very cool. I’ll be interested to see how you like those.

    Like

    1. I’ll try them during the weekend. On each of the screw-on lenses is kind of a table engraved between real focussing and the modification that needs to be done. Need to grab a manual thought to really understand how it works. I am more interested in the Auto-Up Lens enabling “macro” with a minimum distance of 45cm (18″)

      Like

Comments are closed.