Sunflowers


This is a no-brainer shot I made a few years ago (2008?) with my Yashica Mat 6×6 on Ilford HP5 Plus film.

I am not shooting that much these days so in order to post something I’m browsing through older images.

More than an out passed before I got this scan right. With OSX Yosemite my HP Scanjet G4050 does not perform well. The results are horrible. So I switched to my virtual Windows 7 machine where I have Vuescan installed. Even then it took a lot of tweaking. What I saw on my screen was not what I got in the scan.
Anyway I finally got a result I am quite happy with.

I still don’t have a clue if it is the software or the scanner. When I scan 35mm with my Minolta 5400 the results are great. I have a lot of control using Silverfast SE 8 and what I see is also what I get.

But scanning large format with the HP G4050 it is a whole different and discouraging story.

Sunflowers Yashica Mat with Ilford HP5 Plus Scanned with HP Scant G4050
Sunflowers
Yashica Mat with Ilford HP5 Plus
Scanned with HP Scant G4050
10 thoughts on “Sunflowers”

    1. Interesting but I have no idea what you are referring to. I know about the street photography picturing that era but I haven’t a clue how these sunflowers fit in.

      Like

  1. Agreed — very much like the photos from the Dust Bowl era, which is a high compliment.

    I haven’t scanned film using a flatbed scanner in a very long time, mostly due to the awful results compared to those from a dedicated film scanner. This one may not be what you were hoping for, but it’s of excellent quality nonetheless.

    Like

    1. Thank you Mitch.I learned a few things by googling Dust Bowl.

      I scan my 35mm with a dedicated film scanner. Using the flatbed HP G4050 is really a pain and it does not encourage me to follow the direction of medium format. I did some test scans with a friend’s Epson V700 and the difference in quality is really mind-blowing.
      So a V800 is definitively on my wish list.

      Like

Comments are closed.