Upgrading Silverfast SE 8


I haven’t done much these past few days. Developed a film and used a gift voucher from Silverfast offering me 25% off on any purchase made before January 2nd.

I have been thinking about upgrading the 8 SE version to 8 SE Plus. It offers  few extra whistles and bells and I was particularly interested in the multi-exposure option. My Minolta 5400 is supported and multi-exposure increases the dynamic range of your scan. It also reduces the noise.
Read about it on the Silverfaste site HERE.

If multi-exposure does something I haven’t noticed it.

I did several scans and compared them at 100% and 400% in Photoshop.
I had put the two images as layers and switched them on and off. I had the impression the multi-exposure scan wasn’t that sharp as the normal scan.

Anyway, the upgrade minus the 25% reduction came to 51 Euro so that is not the end of the world.

Maybe I am not using the ME option correctly. I’ll do some testing in the next couple of days.

Olympus OM-1n with 28mm f2,8
Olympus OM-1n with 28mm f2,8
