REBLOG – Why the silver gelatin process?


I am reblogging this article posted by Derek because I completely agree with what he has written.

The only thing I’m not going to do ever again is print them with an enlarger on real photo paper.

Visit Derek’s blog “Straight, No Chaser”. It is loaded with useful information, interesting articles and great black and white photography.

Straight, No Chaser.

Petri 7S, Street, 2TMY, Grand Rapids, Michigan

I’ve been thinking about the reason why I use black and white film exclusively lately, and not even bother to touch my digital, I came up with several points. I’m not anti digital, but film still has its place, when it comes to art.

– Knowing me I’m never into the main stream. Just when everyone and their grandmother is all about digital. I’m already over it to a point. Be classy, and use film, and when you do, use black and white film.

– With the silver gelatin process, it is very easy to do at home, unlike c-41 or E6. To develop, all you need is a tank, and as little as 3 other chemicals if you want to be cheap. Developer, Fixer, and Photoflo.

– You don’t get Kodak Tri X with a digital camera.

– Film cameras are relatively…

View original post 668 more words

2 thoughts on “REBLOG – Why the silver gelatin process?”

    1. You’re welcome 🙂
      What you wrote is exactly how I think about analogue photography too, it was both an interesting and intriguing post as I had the impression I was looking inside my head.
      I like your blog very much, great images and interesting, inspirational and fun to read.
      All the best,
      Stephan

      Like

Comments are closed.