Moon over Main Street


A few days ago I developed and dried a roll of Ilford FP4 Plus. On it a a few shots where I had tried to recapture some photographs after my Yashica Electro 35 transported 6 negatives over 40% of their length making half double exposures.

The film came out extremely underexposed, the negatives almost transparent and after drying covered with dust.
Blimey.
Anyway the negatives were worthless and it made me distrust the Yashica even more.
(they can be scanned though but the amount of dust makes it a worthless investment of time. Still can’t explain why there is so much dust though.)

That same evening I went out to make some evening shots with my Nikon F100 and a Nikon 50mm f1,4 ‘G’ I borrowed from a friend whom is thinking of selling it.

I shot a whole film and developed it. It came out extremely underexposed too. Double blimey.

Then I took a look again at the film. No, not underexposed but underdeveloped. Like the one before.
Was my developer contaminated? I was pretty sure I had developed for 8:30′ in Kodak TMax like I always do. I knew had had carefully measured 1 part of developer and 4 parts of water too.
Maybe the concentrate had gone bad?

With some effort the negatives can be scanned but for some reason this film is also covered with dust.

After scanning this image I went to the bathroom and took the bottle with the concentrated TMax with the intention to get rid of what was left in it.

Guess what?
I had written something on the plastic bottle.
“TMax solution 1+4 – 24/12/2014” it read.

From that, without paying attention, I had made a 1+4 developing solution. No wonder the film got underdeveloped.
Shit happens but I have no clue for what reason.

Moon over Main Street Nikon F100 and Nikon 50mm f1,4 G loaded with FP4 Plus
Moon over Main Street
Nikon F100 and Nikon 50mm f1,4 G loaded with FP4 Plus

 

 

3 thoughts on “Moon over Main Street”

Comments are closed.