She’s back…


Those whom follow my blog know my Yashica Electro 35 died. The first roll or two went fine but on the subsequent rolls some negs were superimposed because the film did not transport the full 35mm. I experienced problems with the shutter release and when I loaded the 5th roll the film advance lever stopped working.
It was not about now I’m fully functional and now I am not but it was a gradual process of dying.

She's back!!! Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7
She’s back!!!
Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7

In my blog post “Trashed XMas Trees”  I wrote about my doubts I had for the seller of the camera.
I was dead wrong though and sometimes I should trust people more than I actually do.

A new one! Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7 with "macro" extension
A new one!
Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7 with “macro” extension

Seller mailed me when he received the camera and informed me about every step he took to repair the camera.

When I first received it I noticed how a small piece of plastic was missing from the Battery Check button frame. At the lower right corner a few millimetres were missing. I did not think much about it at that time. It was merely a detail and proof the camera was not new but almost 40 years old.

That small piece of plastic was what caused the failure of the Yashica. It had gotten in the camera and had worked its way slowly to the winding mechanism.

The Killers

The winding mechanism
The two photos’ are courtesy of the Seller.

He obviously wanted to know if I had dropped the camera or if it was hit with something hard. I told him that was not the case. I take great care of my cameras and if it had been the case I would have told him. Accidents can happen and telling the truth is, in my experience, always the best option.

He repaired the camera and made sure I would not experience the well-known “Pad of Death” either.

Today the mailman delivered my Yashica, my sexy Electro 35 GSN and boy was I happy to hold it in my hands, to peek once again through the viewfinder.

I am sure the camera will give me lots if pleasure making photographs.

I thanked the Seller and off course I asked him what I owed him. To my big and pleasant surprise everything was done free of charge.

That I won’t forget. Ever.
Thank you so much P.

This is one great lens... Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7 with "macro" extension
This is one great lens…
Olympus OM-D E-M10 and Fujian 35mm f1.7 with “macro” extension

 

3 thoughts on “She’s back…”

Comments are closed.