Dead and dried


Yesterday, in the early afternoon, I went for a walk. It was grey and dull outside and cold. I guess about minus 3 Celcius but with the wind it felt much colder.

I had a great time though and shot a roll and a half with my Nikon F90x loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus.

Dull, grey and almost no contrast thus and quickly fading daylight. Soon enough I was in trouble. First I had to loose the red filter and half an hour later my Nikon 24-120mm 3.5-5.6 was replaced with the 50mm f1.8.
There wasn’t enough light to shoot with a decent shutter speed.

For a moment my Olympus OM-D M-10 slipped into my mind. Automatic ISO and very good up to 1600 ISO and acceptable at 3200 and prime lenses with f1.7 and f1.8 aperture. Lenses I would never be able to buy for Nikon because I simply cannot afford too. Well, maybe one day a second hand one.

I rarely use a flash except when in studio. The Nikon F90x came with a Nikon SB-26 flash but I hadn’t read the manual yet.
So I got it out of my bag and checked the available buttons and then mounted it on my camera and went looking for something suitable.

I found this dead plant thing and well, kind of flashed it.

Lesson learned today?
Maybe try to put some dough aside for a versatile f2.8 or so Nikon or high-grade Tokina or Sigma.

Back in my car I enjoyed a very welcome hot coffee thanks to the small and very convenient thermos mug. White chocolate added much to this small pleasure and then I was back on the road.

Picked up Big A. at her work, loaded her bicycle in the trunk of my car and not much later I was back home and the first thing I did was developing the film. I’ll be posting some images during the next couple of days.

Dried thing Nikon F90x with 35-105mm 3.5-4.5 and SB-26 loaded with HP5 Plus
Dried thing
Nikon F90x with 35-105mm 3.5-4.5 and SB-26 loaded with HP5 Plus
