Thoughts – January 29th, 2015

Sometimes I wonder if I am restricting myself to much limiting my main photography to black and white film and an occasional colour one.

I have been discussing this topic with Sweetheart on several occasions. She loves my monochrome work but she is unable to spot the difference between an analogue or a digital shot. It is the result that talks to her and not the way it is made. I’m guessing most people can’t spot the difference after all and there is nothing wrong with that.

I do a lot of closeup and macro photography using my Olympus OMD M-10 and a cheap Fujian 35mm f1.7. Sometimes the results are quite stunning and the fact the lens is all but optically perfect is an advantage. These shots though rarely work in black and white.

Recently Sweetheart told me she found my latest postings are all the same kind of stuff. She means the woodlands, the trees and so on. Sweetheart is, as always, right. I am not diversifying enough. When I’m not on a photography trip I could do weeks with only one film and I won’t be posting very much either.

So I have been thinking about adding digital work to my blog too. Black and white conversions for example or  close ups a macro or some occasional street photography.

The main core of this blog will always be about analogue black and white photography though.

I am also playing with the idea of a quarterly photograph for you to download and print for free.

In 2011 I did a photography project titled “The 100 Photographs Project”. The idea was to make and post a photograph every 3th day thus improving my photographic observation skills and promoting my now long gone photography website. In fact it was a general exercise in self-promotion and I even published 4 free eBooks, each with 25 photographs. 

So maybe I’ll take up “publishing” again and create simple photography ebooks for you to enjoy.

Bicycle. Rotterdam, 2007 Nikon F4s with Nikon 24-120mm and loaded with Kodak VR 400. Conversion to b&w was done in PS and then duotoned.
Bicycle. Rotterdam, 2007
Nikon F4s with Nikon 24-120mm and loaded with Kodak VR 400.
Conversion to b&w was done in PS and then duotoned.
