Thoughts – March 7th, 2015


I won’t be able to do much work this weekend. Little A. is staying with me going out making photographs is not her idea of spending quality time with her father. I don’t mind though. I like to make her as happy as possible.

After developing a black and white film I scan it with the Minolta Elitescan 5400. It is tedious work. I have to do it frame by frame.

Ferns I (2008) Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Ferns I (2008)
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus

I can process a strip of 6 negatives but for some strange reason Silverfast shows me the 6 thumbnails but more often than not the final scan results in 6 identical images, the first one scanned, even though the film holder travels into the scanner.
Sometimes only half of the frame is scanned or the autofocus hasn’t done its job.

I have a feeling this started happening after upgrading to OSX Yosemite but on the other hand I see signs the ScanElite is slowly dying.

So scanning a whole film takes up a few hours and then I am not scanning at the highest resolution or quality. I just want a folder with 36 files so I can import them into Lightroom so I can see what I have got and decide what gets scanned in 16-bit tiff or not.

Ferns II (2008) Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Ferns II (2008)
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus

This morning I scanned a 35mm black and white film with 36 negatives in little under 25 minutes at 1200 dpi. The Epson V700 takes 4 strips of 6 and the Epson software easy to use.
Wow.

For the moment I’ll still use the EliteScan for high quality scans though as it is, after all, a dedicated film scanner and goes way up to real 5400 dpi.

Then I scanned a few color photographs and a few 6×6 black and white negatives. Finally did a colour film and I must admit the automatic colour correction does a good job.

Light and Shadow (2008) Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Light and Shadow (2008)
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
One thought on “Thoughts – March 7th, 2015”

  1. Ohhhh, the first on reminds me of Mr. M’s poem this morning. The magic that awaits in the forest.

    Like

Comments are closed.