I am sad


I am really sad.

Last week I acquired a second hand Epson V700 scanner. I wanted to do more medium format photography so I needed a good scanner that did not break the bank.

Medium format slows me down even more, make me look and think about a capture and I like to use a tripod.

I have a Bronica ETRSi and 4 lenses and I was dying to use them again.

After I got the scanner I shot 3 rolls of 120 film and the first one did not develop very well. My fault, I did not pour enough developer in the tank as I am used developing 35mm and use 37,5 cl bottles for the products.

The second film came out right though. There was nothing that made me think it all was going to end extremely soon.

I finished the third film past Sunday morning and it did not come out good at all. Every single frame was extremely over-exposed and the space between each negative was not crystal clear either. It looked like it was moderately exposed each time I advanced a frame.

Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100 Strange how some parts of the image are repeated yet I took only one single shot
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100
Strange how some parts of the image are repeated yet I took only one single shot

This afternoon I went shooting again. The sun was shining, there were fluffy clouds too and I loaded the camera with an Ilford Delta 100.

I don’t know why but while making my shots it felt as if something was going wrong. Just a hunch though as everything went smooth, yet, when I closed my aperture to 22 and used an 8x + 4x ND filter the exposure did not feel like a full 4 seconds.
After developing the film I noticed the exposure is correct though.

Lock Gate, 2015 Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100
Lock Gate, 2015
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100

I felt restless until I developed the film and sure enough my hunch had been right.

Exposure 1 is very okay and spot on. Exposure 2 till 9 are all kind of half superimposed over each other and 10 and 11 are empty frames and then 12 till 15 are once again okay and spot on.

River and ivy, 2015 Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100
River and ivy, 2015
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100

Conclusion?
I guess there is a problem with the ETRSi body. A few weeks ago I tried to do a long exposure so I did a mirror lock-up and doing just that made the camera go off and I lost a frame.

So for now the lenses go into my basement until I have some spare dough to buy an ETRSi body.

Well I still own a Yashica Mat 6×6 and a Holga so I can do some basic medium format photography.
Yet I feel sad sitting on a load of good to excellent glass and not being able to use it.

Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100 Strange how some parts of the image are repeated yet I took only one single shot
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100
Strange how some parts of the image are repeated yet I took only one single shot

Just an idea and a stupid one I am sure. What if I try and not forget to make an exposure with the lens cap on after each photograph? Just to counter the faulty film transport? You know, just for the time being?

I added some scans showing the errors on the film. I find it hard to believe it is only a problem with film transport.
Any ideas? Suggestions?

Just a landscape, 2015 Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100
Just a landscape, 2015
Bronica ETRSi loaded with Ilford Delta 100

 

2 thoughts on “I am sad”

Comments are closed.