Averbode Abbey – Part 1


Averbode Abbey is a Premonstratensian abbey situated near Diest in Flemish Brabant.

The Abbey was founded about 1134–1135 and has a very rich history. (wikipedia)

Even for people like me whom are atheist it is an interesting place to visit.

Nearby there is a garden with Stations of the Cross created in the early 1930′ and made and sculptured in and with cement. It seems to be an art form that existed in those days.

I visited the place a few weeks ago on a Wednesday morning. There were hardly tourists, the sun was shining and it was warm and I had a great time.

And how I enjoyed shooting with the Olympus OM-1n. Cocking the shutter with my thumb, carefully composing, the almost inaudible click, yet warm and sexy.

Having a handful original Zuiko lenses with me increased my pleasure and shooting experience even more.

I’ll be doing several posts on this topic during the next couple of days.
Enjoy!

Averbode Abbey (2015) Olympus OM-1n with Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Averbode Abbey (2015)
Olympus OM-1n with Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

 

5 thoughts on “Averbode Abbey – Part 1”

  1. One of my favourite lenses stephan although the 50 much maligned focal length is also a great all round optic. This is a lovely shot the two buildings connected but not excellent stuff.

    My last post is with the 28 mm zuiko

    Like

    1. I’ve never been much of a wide angle shooter, probably due to the crop factor of my Nikon and the OM-D M-10. That is different now. I simply love the OM-1n yet I am looking forward to picking up the Olympus OM-2n with a Zuiko 50mm f1,4 Monday evening. I got them for a bargain 🙂

      Like

      1. I thought I was bad at acquiring new second gear but you’re there with me. What did you give for the om2n I’ve just got another but only as it came with two 50 1.8’s and a random 90mm f2.5 which I will try out and if it suits sell my 100 2.8 zuiko. I’m still up in the air over which scanner I’ll drop the dollar for. The plustek look nice but I’ve no experience with them.

        Like

      2. For the OM-2n (it looks like mint on the ad) and the 50mm 1,4 I paid 80 Euro. I have no experience with the Plustek either and know nobody who has one. The Epson V700 is great for medium-format and I use it for quickly scanning my 35mm film. But nothing beats the Scan Elite 5400. I hear Pacon is not bad either but only runs on XP.
        I’m now looking for a Zuiko macro lens. I believe they have a 50mm macro.

        Like

Comments are closed.