Pulpit


Sightseeing and an analogue camera go well together. You visit, enjoy, look and see and then you take a few photographs of things that touch you, or strike you.

When you do sightseeing with a digital camera you do it, no offence, the Japanese tourist way. You shoot as a madman and enjoy later, at home.

Have you really seen something, have you experienced being at a specific place? The answer is short. No.
You’ve been there yes, but the environment hasn’t touched you as you observed it through your viewfinder.
You did not feel, really see, experience or smell. What you saw was what your smartphone/digital compact/digital SLR saw.

So I did some sightseeing, leisurely, enjoying being somewhere else. I took a few photographs but only from subjects I related to, or wanted to document.

That is one of the things analogue does. It slows me down so much that I really can enjoy being a simple tourist.

When I entered the church of the little town of Tholen (Zeeland, the Netherlands), I was touched by the space, the light and the organ that suddenly started to play. I talked with the organist and I was connected with the building. I have some photographs, yes, but I gave priority to being there myself. Not my camera.

Pulpit (2015) Olympus OM-1n with Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Pulpit (2015)
Olympus OM-1n with Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
