Metal Construction


I did not measure and I regret it but I can tell you the dynamic range between pure white and pure black was immense.

On the left and the right everything was bathing in harsh sunlight but the underneath the bridge it was rather dark with very deep shadows. There was some light bouncing off from the water up to the metal construction.

I am not sure if I could have pulled this off with one digital capture. In any case not with my old D300. It hasn’t the latest sensor technology and on dynamic range there has been a huge progress.

I measured for the shadows but took in account the bright areas of the image and thus underexposed a little.

During the scan I made sure I got as much detail as possible resulting in a very flat scan. With Lightroom and partial levels in Photoshop I was able to get this image that offers detail in both the highlights and the shadows.

Metal Construction (2015) Olympus OM-2n with G.Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

Metal Construction (2015)
Olympus OM-2n with G.Zuiko 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

2 thoughts on “Metal Construction”

    1. Indeed it does. I think I should be even more careful in deciding what I shoot in black and white. I have my Olympus OM-10 loaded with Agfa Vista and will get a first roll back from the lab this evening.

      Like

Comments are closed.