Ducks


Monday, May 11th.
Still at home.
Sick.
Last week it was lower back pains. I’ve learned to live with it since a kid but it becomes worser.
Now it is a bacterial respiratory infection.

I don’t like to think about it but it is hard not to. After all I am getting older and thus my time I have left is shortening. Guess I have to try to make the best of it.

Past Saturday I picked up an Olympus OM-1 (1973) for 10 euro. The seller told me it was in a closet when he bought the house 10 years ago. He said he had never touched the gear.

I pushed the shutter button and the camera reacted. This means the shutter had been ready for release for a decade. Not that good. I had also some thoughts on the light sealing. The back of the camera was sticky because it’s case had leaked molten glue. There was a distinct smell of age and mould too.

This morning I went to the drugstore and got some 1,4V hearing aid batteries to fire up the light meter of the Olympus OM-1. The OM-1 takes in fact 1,35 V mercury batteries but they are banned.

Loaded an old and expired Kodak Tri-X 400 and made some shots and developed the strip. The negatives were extremely thin. Age of the film? Bad light meter?

Later this afternoon I loaded the remainder of the Tri-X rating it at + 1/3 and developing it at 10 minutes and got some workable albeit thin negatives. I am not sure if it is the expired Tri-X or a faulty camera but I’ll be shooting some Ilford FP4 Plus very soon with this camera.

No light leaks and the exposure very consistent.

A shot of a couple of ducks. Nothing special and, in my opinion, not an ideal subject for black and white.

Ducks (2015) Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 65-200mm at 200 mm and loaded with expired Kodak Tri-X
Ducks (2015)
Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 65-200mm at 200 mm and loaded with expired Kodak Tri-X

 

 

7 thoughts on “Ducks”

  1. I hope you feel better soon Stephan. I had a similar conversation with a friend only a few days ago, there is a point in your life that you realise you are counting down on the clock of life. Like you I guess I am in that ballpark, I appreciate time far more now and truly looking at something and seeing it for what it is, being mindful I suppose.

    I shot some pinhole images a while ago and as you’ll know, exposures are often multiples of minutes, watching the scene for that long you truly take it in.

    Like

    1. I totally agree. Enjoying something when is happens is so much more satisfying than seeing it afterwards on some bad iPhone film or so. Waiting for something to happen can be so enjoyable too. I have a pinhole lens cap for my Nikon but was never satisfied with the results. Way too blurry to be artistic. Maybe one day I’ll get one these wooden pinhole camera’s.

      These OM’s feel so good in my hand, a natural extension of my mind, my eye and my thoughts. We have, my friend, a lot in common.

      Thank you for caring. The drugs are kicking in, no more coughing and I finally enjoy a good night sleep again. Well, that is when Sweetheart is not staying over 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.