Thoughts – May 14th, 2015


It has been a great day.
Early this morning I drove off to the commune of Tholen, Zeeland in the Netherlands.

With me my Olympus gear, my iPod and a bag with water and fruit for when I felt hungry.

I enjoyed cruising around that small part of Zeeland and I discovered a beautiful new spot with a grand view on the nuclear power plant of Doel. It was early morning though and the sun wasn’t right. I made a mental note and decided to come back later for some long exposure shooting.

Finally I did not make that many images but simply enjoyed visiting and being consciously a part of my surroundings.

28 frames were sacrificed for long exposure shooting. I tried various settings and the film still needs to be developed. Although I am curious there is still room for 8 or 9 frames on the film so I’ll wait until every frame is filled with an image.

The first film is hanging out drying and I hope I’ll be able to start scanning after posting this.

Camera of the day was my Olympus OM-1 I only acquired recently. I have a special bond with this camera. Maybe because it was after all the first and thus original OM?

A few years ago, when shooting digital with a APS-C sensor I loved using tele for landscapes.
Now I find the 28mm to be the lens of my choice. It is equipped with a red filter.

At around 2 in the afternoon I returned to the spot with the great view on the nuclear power plant of Doel across the river Scheldt. I made some long exposures on color film too. Both films are not yet ready to be developed though.

This image of cases waiting to be filled with apples or pears was made a few weeks ago. With the Olympus OM-1n and the G.Zuiko 28mm.

Cases (2015) Olympus OM-1n with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Cases (2015)
Olympus OM-1n with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

