Camera blues Part I


One of the fun things with analogue film is you see the results when you have developed the film. No chimping after each shot but serious thinking about your settings so you get the shot right.

Past Thursday I went shooting in Zeeland with the Olympus OM-1 and I had the intention to do some long-exposures too.
I found two spots and on the first location I made several images with exposure between 8 and 15 seconds. On the second spot the light was dimmer so I managed some 50 second exposures.

Nuclear power plant Doel (2015) 10 second exposure Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Nuclear power plant Doel (2015)
10 second exposure
Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

Every single negative where long-exposure was involved has a rather large darker kind of smear making the capture unusable.
It is camera related as I took shots with different lenses.
Normal photography shows no problem whatsoever so I guess it had to be a leak somewhere in the front of the camera.

I include two images just to show you how bad the damage is.
O yes, I have also some issues with the Olympus OM-2n. Massive light leaks.
That’s for another post though.

Jetty (2015) 50 second exposure Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 50 mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Jetty (2015)
50 second exposure
Olympus OM-1 with G.Zuiko 50 mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

 

4 thoughts on “Camera blues Part I”

  1. Stephan get some material from eBay to sort your light seals they are a doddle to do I did both mine. Since then no issues whatsoever there was a site I found which gave measurements and stuff.

    Love the shots by the way.

    Like

    1. Thank you Martin, I’ll look into that. Found some documentation about the proceedings so now all I have to get is the right material.
      I love long exposure shots but it has become such an hype I’ve the impression you see them everywhere.

      Like

      1. Yep is agree with that, it’s like any style that seems new all you then see is pale imitations of the original. That said I think most everything has been done at some time and if you decide on a style or genre and it gives you pleasure who cares what anyone else thinks. I shoot for me and post for me yeah it’s nice if folk visiting like it but I’m not bothered if they don’t.

        That’s why on my blog you will never see any Vote for me at wherever !

        Like

      2. Yet even if we think that almost everything has been done we need to continue to think out of the box and try to push it to an ever higher level.

        Like

Comments are closed.