Camera blues Part II


Past Wednesday in the early evening I went for a walk and took my Olympus OM-2n with me. I had loaded it with Ilford HP5 Plus.

I developed the film yesterday and was sad to see how light leaks had ruined several images. They are not consistently spread over the film yet 30% of the photographs are lost.
I am wondering if it is possible that when the camera bumps against my waist or so, the back moves a little giving light the possibility to do its ruinous work?
With color film the effect could be “artsy” or “vintage” but even then I would not accept it. I do not like not having control over what happens when I do something.

Olympus OM-2n loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Olympus OM-2n loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus

I changes backs between the Olympus OM-1 and this camera hoping this will be a solution. If not I’ll have to send the camera to someone I know and repairs mechanic camera’s.

I guess this are the pitfalls when working with 35+ year old gear. But that does not mean I have to accept or like it.

Olympus OM-2n loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Olympus OM-2n loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus

 

 

6 thoughts on “Camera blues Part II”

  1. I know how disappointing this is having had a similar problem with a Hasselblad 500C. Had a go at changing the light seals … fortunately it all worked out well and no more light leaks.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Simon, not only disappointing but frustrating too 🙂 I am going to do one of my camera’s this weekend, using the one I don’t use that much and we’ll see. Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

Comments are closed.