Thoughts – May 22nd, 2015


It is the start of a long weekend and I’m off work and won’t be back until Thursday morning. Unfortunately weather predictions aren’t that great with lots of rain being promised.
So be it.
I hope I’ll find some time to write down what has been ripening in my mind.

It is little over 7 months now since I not only decided to go back to film photography but to blog about my experiences at the same time.

When I look back I see how my photography and the way I look at things have changed. In the beginning I always took a digital camera with me as a backup. Now I am at nearly 90% analogue and there is no digital backup anymore. Well, except my iPhone.

Going back to analogue was in some way going back to my roots. When I attended art school back in the seventies, digital was still a scientist’s wet dream. There was only analogue and I was good when it came to darkroom work. I printed black and white, colour and used the delicious and gorgeous Cibachrome.

Now, after 15 years of digital, it was really going back to basics. Having no EXIF was more a problem for my little and perfectionist side than a practical issue.

It took some time to find a naming convention to use on my sheets of developed film. Finally it was more about satisfying my autistic side.
And boy, the problems I encountered when drying my film after rinsing it with tapwater was a maddening experience. It almost made me quit analogue.

Creating a workflow from wet processing to a digital darkroom was no problem at all and it works like a charm. I’ll do a post on that too.

Switching back to analogue gave me enormous pleasure (and frustration) but wandering around in this world shooting film has changed me, had changed my vision, has changed so much. Now I come home and develop a film and have about 50 to 70% keepers.
But I know where I have been, what I saw.
I was in it, I was a part of it, I experienced every moment.

With digital I would shoot like a Japanese tourist and savour afterwards. But I would enjoy only what I snapped without seeing, without appreciating, without having sensed my surroundings in every possible way.

There is something else I need to decide on. I want to give myself a special present. It is something I do every year at the end of May.

I am tempted to get a Kiev 6c, a Russian 6×6 SLR camera. Big, chunky and so fort. The seller is a trusted source and the asking price rather reasonable. But after doing some reading it seems a Kiev has its quirks. Being who I am I wonder if this is a camera for me.
Hell, I am really tempted though.

White daisy (2015) Olympus OM-2n with G.Zuiko 28mm and green filter loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
White daisy (2015)
Olympus OM-2n with G.Zuiko 28mm and green filter loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
2 thoughts on “Thoughts – May 22nd, 2015”

  1. Go for the Kiev if you think you would have fun with it – quirks and all. On the other hand…you seem to be a perfectionist and it might frustrate you…..hmmm….
    (I’m mapping out how I use my phone — still planning to connect, friends in for the weekend.)

    Like

Comments are closed.