A long weekend


Yesterday, Saturday, May 23th in the late evening, Sweetheart and I drove to Yerseke. We enjoyed cooked mussels in a little restaurant I have been visiting for the past decade or so. My love had invited me for my upcoming birthday next Wednesday. I’ll be 56 and I find the idea approaching 60 even more troublesome. It is not because I feel old or so, it is the 60 that is so very depressing.

Back home we went to bed, Princess Sweetheart and I. It was already late but we took our time to enjoy each other.
And then, after a good night sleep, we enjoyed each other even more.

Sunday, May 24th.
I dropped Sweetheart of at her place. It was noon and she had her kids and her life to take care of.
I had nobody to care for so I drove to Zeeland, direction Goes where I took the Zeeland Bridge and ended up in Zierikzee.

Oh boy did I enjoy my leisurely afternoon. I spoke with a Dutch gentleman whom was fascinated I still did analogue photography. It was in a little street where I noticed how he took an image of an old Agfa illuminated sign. I said hi and we talked and then he was gone but seconds later I heard him running towards me asking for my card.
Yes, this are moments I cherish, these unexpected encounters.

I truly had a grand afternoon but it was overshadowed because Sweetheart wasn’t at my side. I am sure she would have enjoyed this visit, this discovery of Zierikzee. With her the afternoon would have been even greater and intenser.

Later on I took some long exposure shots and back home it was a piece of film I developed first. Unfortunately they are once again ruined. Exposure is okay but they suffer from light leaks too. Yet this time I used my Olympus OM-1n and on regular shots there is nothing wrong. But with these long exposures, 2′:30″ there are deep black streaks over the negatives. I find it extremely demotivating.

One of these days I am going to pick up the Kiev 6C in Gent.

Screenshot

