David and Goliath


The Kiev 6C is one heavy SOB and with the Jupiter lens mounted you are ready for a workout.

I could make a photograph of the camera on a bathroom scale but that would say nothing. Weight, even as an exact science, is somewhat subjective as dimensions also seem to play a subjective role.

But dimensions can be compared. So I made this simple no fuss shot on my desk comparing the Kiev 6C to my small Olympus OM-1 and I threw an AA battery in too.

The Olympus has the 50mm f1.8 Zuiko attached and the Kiev the wide angle Mir 38b 65mm f3.5 with yellow filter.

I hope I can go out shooting tomorrow as I have a day off. In the evening Sweetheart has invited me to the theater in Leuven. She got us tickets for The Cherry Orchard by Anton Checkov (no we are not Commies). Maybe a few drinks afterwards and then its back to my/our place for a good night sleep and more fun Wednesday forenoon to celebrate my 56th anniversary.

David and Goliath (2015) Olympus OM-D M-10 with 45mm f1,8 and one Jinbei 180WS with softbox
David and Goliath (2015)
Olympus OM-D M-10 with 45mm f1,8 and one Jinbei 180WS with softbox
8 thoughts on “David and Goliath”

  1. Stephan now that is a beast. I can’t wait to see your results there’s something so perfect about 6×6, I always enjoying looking at mine whe I shoot with the blad.

    Like

    1. It is a gorgeous looking camera Martin, heavy and it feels rock solid. Shooting with this and handheld metering really slows me down. Looking at the world trough a square changes one perception and feeds imagination. It has never been used and well, it shows. It is almost imperceptible but showing at 1/125″ and worsening up to 1/1000″. Half the negative is a tad darker than the other half due to a problem with the sync between the curtains. No big deal though as the seller will fix it for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I remember. 🙂
        I was teasingly trying to determine if I should be exceptionly polite to you because I’m asking for help on choosing a camera. XO

        Like

Comments are closed.