The Kiev 6C


This morning I drove to the city of Ghent to meet a camera collector. It was not the first time I did business with this very friendly gentleman. My Yashica Electro 35 GSN came from his collection.
Yet it was the first time we met in person.

Almost an hour later I was on the road again, driving back home. With me a Kiev 6C SLR (USSR) with a removable TLL prism, a waist level finder, two macro rings,  a few filters and the standard Vega 90mm f2.8. In two extra lens bags I carried a Mir 38b 65mm f3.5 wide angle and a Jupiter 36b 250mm f3.5.
All this material was bought in Ukraine so it was material designated for the domestic market and names are engraved in Cyrillic.

Kiev 6C

The aperture blades are made from brass and the Jupiter is very heavy. The front lens glass is in one piece and not a combination of lenses you find in European or Japanese design.

The camera itself was sold in 1979 and was intended as a gift for a factory manager who retired. It seems everybody in the factory pitched in for this camera. At that time it cost 380 roubles and was twice the amount of a top managers’s monthly salary.

Back home I put an old Kodak T320 in the camera just to try it out. It took me almost 10 minutes before I got the roll correctly fixed in the film holder. I took some shots with the different lenses and with the macro adapter and everything seems to work perfectly. I did not find the film counter to be reliable but then again it may just be my awkwardness with this new camera.

Kiev 6C Warranty

The standard Vega 90mm f2.8 stayed behind as there was an issue with the aperture blades. It will be send to me in the next couple of days.

One of the first things I’ll have to get is a camera plate for my tripod as the Kiev 6C takes another thread. Shouldn’t be hard to find on eBay.

This evening, after dropping Little A. at boarding school, I’ll take some picture of the camera and post them. I have a day off tomorrow so I hope I can go out and do some shooting.

Sweetheart hasn’t seen the camera yet but she saw the camera bag on an image and fell in love with it 🙂

Kiev leather camera bag and  lens bags
Kiev leather camera bag and lens bags

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Kiev 6C”

Comments are closed.