Marguerite


One of the things I noticed that changed in my photography is the fact the Zuiko 28mm f3.5 has become my lens of choice. Sure, I use the 50mm too but the 135mm or zoom lenses not that often.

A few years ago, when I visited the French Opal Coast, my lens of choice was the Sigma 100-300 f4 and the 24-120mm VR. On a Nikon D2h or D300 the 24mm is in fact a 36mm and hardly worthy the name wide angle.

But now on my 35mm Olympus camera’s  a 28mm is really a 28mm wide angle and I love the wideness for landscapes. It feels as if I discovered a new way of looking at the world. The 28mm is on my camera most of the time now and I have a red filter for it. With 35mm and the so called full frame camera’s lenses behave the way the were intended for. After having used a crop sensor I have forgotten how sweet the shallow depth of field of a 50mm f1,8 or f1,4 can be.

The downside to this all is that a 300mm is just a 300mm and not a 450mm anymore.

Marguerite (2015) Olympus OM-1n with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Marguerite (2015)
Olympus OM-1n with G.Zuiko 28mm with red filter and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Marguerite”

Comments are closed.