Analogue workflow


I promised to write about my analogue workflow so here we go.
Keep in mind that I am constantly questioning the way I work so I am sure that over time some of the things I’ve written today will be obsolete or changed.

My workflow for b&w and color film is the same except for one detail. I process my own b&w but send the color film to a lab.

I have an old Windows 7 laptop with a 24” display and a 27” iMac sitting on my desk together with the Epson V700 and Minolta Scan Elite 5400. For the V700 I prefer EpsonScan over Silverfast SE8. The Epson is connected to the laptop but I have the software also installed on my iMac. Changing scanners on computer is just plugging in another USB-cable.

When I have the film processed I scan it with the V700, even 35mm.
The Epson takes 4 strips of 6 so in two passes an entire roll of 36 exposures is scanned. I don’t scan them at 2400 DPI as I do 6×4.5 or 6×6 though.
I make sure the negatives are correctly put in the film holder so negative 1 is file 1.
I scan to the correct folder and with the designed file name.
Such a file name could be OM2n_2015-003-xxx meaning this is the third roll of film with the Olympus OM-2n shot in 2015. These go under Digifot 2015 -> Analogue -> Olympus -> OM-2n

Developed film (2014) Olympus OM-D M-10
Developed film (2014)
Olympus OM-D M-10

For my digital photography I have one folder per year and then for each digital camera a sub folder. So you have Digifot 2015 and in this folder D300, D2h and so on. Under these are the events I photographed, also in folders. This would add up to Digifot 2015 -> D300 -> Zeeland-27052015 and the filename would then be D300_27052015-001 and so on.

Obviously there is no EXIF data in my scanned files so I note every shoot in my calendar. That way I can keep track of location, date and camera(s) used. The calendar app on my Android and iOS devices are synchronized with the iOS calendar as master application.

At this point in time the film is scanned and the files are in the correct folder and sub folder and properly named.

Then the folder is imported in Lightroom. I rely very much on keywords here, even more than with digital images. I also change the date of every image to the date of capture. I find it still difficult I don’t have the exact time but that is just me.

I scan medium format at 2400 dpi so these are definitive scans whereas the 35mm scans are lower resolution and nothing more than big thumbnails.

When I choose a 35mm file for being processed and printed I scan the negative again with the Minolta Scan Elite at 2700 or 5400 dpi using Silverfast SE8 and the corresponding small file is replaced with the final scan.

Disk space has become very affordable so I keep the final PSD file also in the same folder as the original scan.

Finally I finish the day by running ChronoSync in order to make a backup of the new files. Depending on how many directories and/or files have been created over a given period of a week or a month I make an extra backup on a disk I keep safely locked away at work.

 

Drowned bicycle (2015) Olympus OM-1n with 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Drowned bicycle (2015)
Olympus OM-1n with 28mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Analogue workflow”

Comments are closed.