Kiev 10 – First shots


I mentioned in a previous post that in my opinion the viewfinder is very bright. The center spot has microcrystals and at the left you have the aperture scale. The Kiev 10 works in full manual mode or in shutter-speed priority. The scale is not illuminated.

Kiev 10 Viewfinder shot with iPhone
Kiev 10
Viewfinder shot with iPhone

As I had planned to go out and shoot with the camera I wanted to know how reliable the light meter is an if the shutter-speed priority does a good job. So I popped in an Ilford FP 4 Plus and made a few shots out of my window with the Mir-1 a 37mm f2.8 lens.

I had the camera already set in automatic mode and advanced the film before closing the back to make sure the film was advancing. I then pushed the shutter button but nothing happened. I tried the film lever again, maybe I had not pushed it far enough but that too did not move an inch.

Oh my god, I had broken the camera was my first thought. My heart started beating way quicker and my forehead became somewhat sweaty.

Then I remembered… In automatic mode the camera blocks the shutter release if there is not enough light. With the lens down on my desk that was obviously the case. I turned the dial from A to the first aperture setting, pressed the shutter button, advanced the film and closed the camera.

I cut the film and developed the small strip during 8′ in Kodak TMax and after a short stop bath and a few minutes of fixing I opened the development tank. No fog on the film so the camera sealing is still okay and the negatives were perfectly exposed.

Balcony, detail (2015) Kiev 10 with Mir-1 37mm f2.8 and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Balcony, detail (2015)
Kiev 10 with Mir-1 37mm f2.8 and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

To be honest it was very overcast this evening. No harsh shadows or spots of sunlight but an even and uninspiring light. But hey, it still works! There is an underexposed spot in the upper right hand corner though. It could be the lenshood that is not properly attached.

Anyway, the first images I shot with the Kiev 10 are sharp and look good. Light metering works and there is enough detail in de shadows without the highlights being blown. But then again it was an overcast day and thus an easy job for a light meter. The automatic mode works just fine.
I hope I’ll have time tomorrow to do some decent shooting.

30 + 30 (2015) Kiev 10 with Mir-1 37mm f2.8 and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
30 + 30 (2015)
Kiev 10 with Mir-1 37mm f2.8 and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

 

2 thoughts on “Kiev 10 – First shots”

Comments are closed.