Kiev 6C – The story continues


A few posts ago I wrote about thinking ‘this is to easy’, there must be a catch somewhere.

I should have seen it on Sunday when I developed the film I shot that same morning. I guess I saw it but I did not notice it, or did I think any further.
Monday evening, after work, I adjusted gear wheel A a little more and went for a shoot in my neighbourhood. I posted  an image I took of a bannister. In that post I mentioned that the negatives where severely overexposed.
Naively I thought I screwed up making a new batch of developer or did not use my handheld light meter correctly. I guess I knew it but did not want to see it because accepting it would mean accepting a huge setback.

Yesterday afternoon, when I came home I put a teststrip in the Kiev 6C and put the remainder of the film in an Olympus OM-1. I then measured the light with my handheld light meter and shot a frame with both cameras. Then I developed both strips at the same time in the same canister.
This would exclude light metering and developing issues.

The negative made with the OM-1 was a gorgeous one but the one shot with the Kiev 6C was dark and heavily overexposed.

So there you have it. The shutter speed is off on the Kiev 6C due to my adjusting the shutter curtain so it would be consistent all over the image.

This morning, at noon, after Sweetheart left, I did two new testshots with the Kiev 6C. I think the exposure (or shutter speed) is off with give or take 3 stops. So 1/1000 on the camera is  1/125 in real time.

There is no way I can adjust this using only my eye and a zillion kilometers of film. I need help. Someone who has material to measure shutter speeds for example.

It is almost summer and I have 2 weeks at work before my first part of my holiday starts. I am seeing P. next Monday so we can adjust 2 of the 3 lenses. One has sticky shutter blades and the other one is tack sharp but is off on infinity.

I still believe there is a solution for the camera itself but I am unable to fix it on my own. I need help from somebody who owns measuring gear.
At the moment though I feel like I own a beautiful vintage convertible but am unable to take it out for a spin and spending all that fun-time in the garage.

So here is the plan.
I will have plenty of time in the winter to play with the camera and adjust it but for now I want to go out and shoot with the Kiev 6C. I will be ordering a few ND8 filters as they cut down exposure with 3 stops. If I take in account the latitude of black and white film I should be allright.

Yeah, it is like having this vintage convertible.
You can’t use it on the highway but hey, the backroads bring you to your destination too.

Kiev 6C with 65mm and a strip of 35mm Ilford FP4 Plus
Kiev 6C with 65mm and a strip of 35mm Ilford FP4 Plus with ND3 filter simulation.

 

 

