Phone home


Until a few days ago I had an iPhone 4s. I acquired second hand and for almost a year I was very happy with it. Lately though I found (or had the impression) the phone became slower when switching between apps and so on. When it started to annoy me I knew it was time to move on.

Just for the record, I also own a 16Gb iPad Air and an Asus 7″ Android tablet.

Splashing out 600+ Euro for a phone is something that I refuse to do. I need a phone with some basic smartness, not a complete portable computer. I have a tablet to satisfy my needs.

Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE
Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE

Even 300 Euro is way to much for a phone. For me that is.
A second hand iPhone 5 or so is out of the question. So are mid range Android phones. For a while I had a Huawei in mind and Big A. talked about One Plus, a kickstarter Android phone.
The Huawei (P7) I liked would cost me almost 300 Euro too.

Strangely I never considered anything else but iOS and Android so when a colleague showed me a Windows phone I said no way. But he was very lyrical about his Lumia 640 LTE so I read a few reviews and ended up buying one. After little over two weeks I am still very happy with the (Nokia) Microsoft phone. It is very responsive and it has all the whistles and whatever I need. The Personal Assistent Cortana is pretty well designed but does not replace Sweetheart though.

The phone’s camera is pretty decent too.

Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE and the Black App
Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE and the Black App

I rely heavily on my agenda that I keep in iCloud. I remember buying an Android app for my ASUS tablet so I could consult and synchronize (from device to server only). To my big surprise the Windows phone supports an iCloud account natively and after entering my credentials my agenda and contacts appeared on my phone.

I paid 180 Euro for the phone and got a one-year subscription for Office 365 and a 4000 mAh power bank/speaker set. With these two extras I would never have considered buying the phone finally came down to roughly 90 Euro.
There are very little specialized apps for Windows phones though. The one I used the most on my iPhone was ‘Reciprocity Timer’. This app is very handy when you work with ND-filters, long exposure times and film.

Read more about reciprocity failure Reciprocity failure.

So I’ll be making a small text file based on output I generated on my iPad with the Reciprocity app so when I am in the field I have the necessary information to adapt my exposure.

It goes without saying that my eldest daughter, Big A., is extremely happy with my old iPhone 4s.
Little A. on the other had is mad at me I didn’t give the phone to her.

Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE
Microsoft Lumia 640 LTE

 

4 thoughts on “Phone home”

  1. I’m using my Samsung Galaxy 5 for photos. I almost think that I liked the Galaxy 3 better, but I am not sure why…still thinking about purchasing the camera…M. thinks I should. Life keeps getting in my way. Sigh.

    Like

  2. My friend owns the nokia cannot remember the model it is nice but using windows was a real pain, (for me at least). The shots look good stephan although it seems odd seeing a post from you which is a. in colour and b. digital.

    Like

    1. I think Windows as a phone OS had greatly improved. Years ago (2004 or so) I had a Hewlett Packard PDA with Windows and that sucked big time. Occasionally I still do some digital, but not that much though. Past weekend Sweetheart and me visited Antwerp and attended an event and I took my Olympus OM-D M10 with me and a few lenses. I knew we would walk a lot and this gear has no weight.

      Like

Comments are closed.