Kiev 4 Focusing Issues


Yesterday I took the Kiev 4 and used it for the second time.

I shot 12 frames, making sure my main subject was in focus. Yes, after my first few shots a few days ago I had the impression focus was not always spot on.

I developed the film and while drying Little A. and I watched an episode of Pretty Little Liars. After that I called Sweetheart and after that I went to bed and for a while I did some reading on my eBook reader.

It was hot in my bedroom making it hard to fall asleep. Hell, the announced heat wave hasn’t arrived yet. That will be promising. Weather forecast tells me it will be close to 36° C this Saturday.

This morning I scanned the 12 negatives and only 3 of them were sharp. Sharpness of the remaining 9 images was really inconsistent and between not very sharp to very blurred.

I’ll do some testing in my studio using a tripod later on.

Browsing trough the activities calendar of our local CC Zwaneberg I noticed there is a workshop about street photography. There is one evening (3 hours) dedicated to a theoretic approach of the genre and then, a few days later, 3 hours of practice in Antwerp.
The workshop is given by Glenn Huyben and I like what I see on his Glenn Huyben. I’ll probably going to follow this workshop given in April 2016.

But I have a more serious event today. Shortly after noon Little A. and I are going to her boarding school to pick up her belongings and get her school report.

Not sure I’ll be overjoyed when I see the results but I am hoping and do trust Little A. to have gotten back on track after some dramatic results at the beginning of the school year.

Untitled (2015) Kiev 4 loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
Untitled (2015)
Kiev 4 loaded with Ilford HP5 Plus
