Infrared and the Nikon D2h


One of the blogs I follow is Dan Jurak’s excellent Alberta Landscape Photo Blog.

Amongst other things Dan photographs with a modified digital camera so it is extremely sensitive for infrared.

This gives eerie and wonderful images where blue skies are dark and the green foliage white.

Most digital cameras have some sensitivity for IR but you need an IR filter to filter out the visible light. As this filter is almost black you need a long exposure to get an image that is completely red and needs some postprocessing in Lightroom, Photoshop or other.
I have a preset in LR to quickly make the general modifications before going to Photoshop for more detailed work.

With a modified camera where the IR filter is removed you can shoot like with any other camera.

To check if your camera is sensitive to IR put it in bulb-mode in a completely darkened room and point your remote controller from you television for example, to the lens and press some buttons. You should see some light streaks on you image.

I like IR but in my opinion it does not work with every scene.

I guess analogue IR black and white film is both very hard to find and extremely expensive so that is not an option for me.

Modifying a cheap camera myself would be an interesting project and there are lots of cheap digital cameras on sale.

But the sun is shining. Nature is filled with green grass and green leaves and the sky blue.

I would rather be outside shooting than opening some camera with a zillion minuscule screws and then screw it all up.

So?
I have an old Nikon D2h and its unmodified sensor is very sensitive to infrared.

With the Cokin P007 IR (89B) I can shoot on a very sunny day at, for example, f6,3 at 1/5″ and that is rather impressive. It shows how sensitive the sensor of this 2003 camera is.
I use a strip of black velcro around the filter holder to prevent light leakage.

Railway (2015) Nikon D2h with 24-120mm and Cokin P007 IR (89B)
Railway (2015)
Nikon D2h with 24-120mm and Cokin P007 IR (89B)

 

