Offspring


Do I love shooting with the Bronica ETRSi. I should get a second film back though, so I can shoot color too.

The film back has a film type indicator frame. When loading a film you tear off the end flap from the empty film package and insert it.

I don’t know why but when I last loaded a new film I didn’t. I use a hand held light meter and,  thinking I had an Ilford HP5 Plus in the camera, I measured every shot at 400 ISO.

After 15 frames I unloaded the film and noticed to my horror it was an Ilford FP4 Plus (125 ISO). I had underexposed the film about 2 stops.

The Ilford FP4 Plus Technical Information brochure states

“Best results are obtained at EI 125/22, but good image quality will also be obtained at meter settings from EI 50/18 to EI 200/24.”

They don’t mention 400 ISO and in the development times table there is no time given for 400 ISO either.

So I made a quick calculation based upon given times of 8′ for 125 ISO and 9′ for 200 ISO and decided to develop for 11′.

That worked very well and the detail in de negatives are still very well saved and there is only a hardly noticable increase in grain.

Offspring (2015) Bronica ETRSi with 200mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus exposed at 400 ISO
Offspring (2015)
Bronica ETRSi with 200mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus exposed at 400 ISO

 

 

One thought on “Offspring”

Comments are closed.