Leicaflex SL – First images


Yesterday evening.
I felt my heartbeat going up when I opened the development tank. Oh the anticipation!

Then I had the film in my hands, my very first Leica shots ever. I held the piece of film up against the grey sky outside and had a look.

Every negative was well exposed albeit a few were a tad overexposed. I guess I did not meter well.
No apparent light leaks. Film advancement is flawless.
The image made with the studio flash was also perfectly exposed. X-Sync is 1/100th at f8.

I rinsed the film with demineralised water, then the final rinse where I added a few drops of wetting agent. Then I hung the film to dry in the bathroom.

I watched two episodes of Pretty Little Liars (Season 2), talked over the phone with Sweetheart and at 10:30 PM I turned in and slept well.

* * * *

It is eight in the morning and raining.
I’m enjoying a cup of coffee with cream.

My Minolta Dimage Scan Elite 5400 is buzzing cheerfully. Then the first image appears on my screen. I use Silverfast SE 8 Plus for scanning.

They are merely test shots, no jaw dropping and award winning photographs.

Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus. One Jinbei 180ws flash-head and synced at 1/100th f8.
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus. One Jinbei 180ws flash-head and synced at 1/100th f8.

Wow, I like what I see. The images are very sharp, even wide open at f2. Bokeh is very pleasing. Cannot wait to make a few portraits of Sweetheart or Little A.
Contrast is also very present.

Lots of dust though, way more than I am used to have. For this post I am not going to bother removing it though.

Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus. Shot af f2
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus.
Shot af f2
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus. Shot af f16
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus.
Shot af f16

I am very happy with this camera and extremely thankful to my colleague for her kindness.

I loaded a new roll of film in the camera and taped the beginning to the film-taking spool. I’ll try and come up with a more professional solution later on.
This camera is really heavy, feels solid and looks like it is build to last forever.

I’m taking the camera for a walk after finishing this post. Well, I hope so as clouds are moving in again and light fades. It is going to be a rainy day.

PS I am not going for a walk. The rain is pouring down for the moment. Maybe I’ll watch another Pretty Little Liars episode in stead.

Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
5 thoughts on “Leicaflex SL – First images”

Comments are closed.