Leicaflex SL – Second thougths & honesty


After dropping Sweetheart at her place I went for a walk.

I had the  Leicaflex SL and the Summicron 50mm f2 with me.
The camera loaded with the remainder of the Ilford FP4 Plus.

I used a Gossen Sixtino 2 to measure the light.

Back home I developed the film and, when dried, scanned it.
I am still flabbergasted about the amount of dust, not used to it.

The Leicaflex SL works well and the Summicron is simply tack sharp. You measure the light, set aperture and speed and shoot.

The shots I made are simple. Just testing the contrast and sharpness of the lens. A camera is just a camera, a film simply a film. The final image is made by the lens.

I have photographed with 35mm Olympus, Nikon and Pentax but the contrast, the sharpness the Leicaflex gives me is something I cannot describe.
It simply is awesome.

Glass and concrete (2015) Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Glass and concrete (2015)
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus

The Leicaflex SL was given to me by someone who believed it did not work anymore. It still does though.

Today a Leicaflex SL in mint condition, mine is not mint but almost, and a perfect working Summicron goes for 600 – 800 Euro.

It is a gift that is hard to accept because of wrong assumptions buy the giver.

Tomorrow I’ll talk to my colleague and tell here the facts. I shot a whole film with the camera, there is a simple work around for the film advancement problem. If metering light is a problem, I’ll offer a Selenium based light meter. Hell, why not the Sixtino 2?

I should be honest about it.
Some will think of me as plain stupid.
That is okay with me. No hard feelings.

I on the other hand like to admire myself in a mirror. I like to think I am an awesome guy.

I think I should be honest to my colleague and explain her what she has given me.
If she still feels okay with the gift, I’ll be too.

Wheat (2015) Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Wheat (2015)
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
9 thoughts on “Leicaflex SL – Second thougths & honesty”

  1. I think that is a good choice and I suspect that you will be given the gift because they know you appreciate it and will love the camera. Feeding someone’s passion is a joy that only comes around once in awhile.
    (Unless her Dad needs the money by selling the camera…XO)

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.