Wood, metal and a brick wall


My Leicaflex SL has 1235763 as serial number and I was curious if this would help me find out when this camera was assembled.

On Cameraquest.com I found following information :
A new batch of 10000 cameras was started on May 29, 1969. The first serial number of that batch was 1235001.

1235763 Leicaflex SL serial number photographed with a Lumia 640 LTE
1235763
Leicaflex SL serial number photographed with a Lumia 640 LTE

That day I was 10 years and two days old. The moon was still uncharted terrain but not for long anymore.
My father would be with us for another 3 years and two weeks. Then my life would change in a way I could not have imagined.

I did not see my colleague today so I was not able to tell her the camera was in good working order and if she wanted me to return it.

Wood, metal and a brick wall (2015) Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
Wood, metal and a brick wall (2015)
Leicaflex SL with Summicron f2 50mm and loaded with Ilford FP4 Plus
5 thoughts on “Wood, metal and a brick wall”

    1. She and her Dad were very happy to hear I’m enjoying this camera. And yes, I can keep it 🙂
      I feel so lucky with so many kindness surrounding me.

      Like

  1. Mmmm, I was 6, and my family was about to leave the close knit Jewish neighborhood that was my only knowledge of what was home. Interesting how we mark time.

    Like

Comments are closed.