Bunker near Audinghen, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France


A few days ago, while cleaning up, I found this unprocessed roll of Kodak T-Max 100. I developed it and scanned the negatives. They came out very well although I still have an issue with dust particles.

The last 4 exposures I shot at a motocross in The Netherlands and because I did shoot more of that event on digital I know the date was March 27, 2010. Other images I shot at the Opal Coast and thanks to my digital images I know it must have been during the weekend of 12-13 March that same year.

It was one of the last rolls I shot with my F100 because after changing film, not far from where I took this shot of the bunker, the camera went into ERR-mode. I still find the F100 the best “modern”, analog camera I ever owned. I wish I had one but I think I would opt for the Nikon F5.

This roll was shot 6 years ago. I was somebody else back then, living a life I am happy I was finally able to leave far behind me. I have no connection whatsoever with that part of my past.

So there I was, then, photographing, making regular trips to the Opal Coast. I was alone, craving for love, for romance, for good sex. All that was near, just 16 months further in my future, but at that time so very far away.

I shot a zillion images at the Opal Coast and a handful I used for my solo exhibition in my home town back in the summer of 2012.

At my side during opening night, almost a year together at that time, was Sweetheart. She still stands at my side and I at hers.

If photography is about memories, then I can look back and say that at this moment I am perfectly happy. I have found what I have been searching for since the dawn of my time. When I look back my past is merely a difficult road leading me and preparing me for Sweetheart.

It is not photography albeit it is still a small and important part of my life. It is Sweetheart. I have been looking for her since forever.
Now she walks next to me.

I am an extremely happy man. I am absolutely complete and in perfect harmony with whom I turned out to be.

Just wanted to write about Sweetheart, my love, my wife to be. About the meaning of my life.

Being happy, being madly in love and enjoying every moment of my life at it deepest and fullest.

Thank you, Sweetheart, for your love.

Bunker (2010) Audighen, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France Nikon F100 loaded with Kodak T-Max 100
Bunker (2010)
Audighen, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France
Nikon F100 loaded with Kodak T-Max 100

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Bunker near Audinghen, Nord-Pas-de-Calais, France”

Comments are closed.