New BF


Since my photography school I’ve always been a Nikon fan. Of course I know a good photograph is made by the person behind the camera and the latter simply is tool.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my Olympus kit like I love my Bronica ETRSi kit. Different camera’s, different ways of looking, working, composing. Another camera, another way of looking at the world.

Sometimes I simply like to be kind of lazy. Compose, decide on an aperture opening and shoot. Everything else is in the hands of the camera.

I owned a F2 Photomic and a F4. I own a Nikon F90x and a F100 and the latter is one of the best camera’s I ever used. Don’t ask me why though, I guess it is a mix of ergonomics and emotion.

Once again don’t ask me why but I wanted more. Maybe it is about proving myself I can. Maybe it is about old dreams, unreachable back then but quite possible today.

For weeks I have been searching and finally found what could become my next Best Friend.

Nikon F5 (2016) Nikon D300 with 50mm f1,8
Nikon F5 (2016)
Nikon D300 with 50mm f1,8I bought a Nikon F5 at , a company that deals with 2nd hand camera equipment. They give a 6 month warranty and after being fucked over a few times last year I needed to deal with someone I could/can trust.

I bought a Nikon F5 at PTCollectibles, a company that deals with 2nd hand camera equipment. They give a 6 month warranty and after being fucked over a few times last year I needed to deal with someone I could/can trust.
The camera looks fine and only a few small traces suggest it has been used before.

Made a few shots with the camera, outside and then inside, with my Jinbei studio flash set. Used different lenses, AI-s, G, non-CPU and did not experience any problems. Developed the film just to check. Every shot made a good negative and I’m sure they’ll come out well scanned. Nothing artsy, just checking the camera. The light-metering in the F5 was legendary and tuned for slide film.

I like how the camera feels, very balanced in my hand, usage very intuitive. The sound of 8 fps extremely sexy.

Yes, I love my Olympus analogue kit and it is very complete. A few primes, a few zoom lenses, a flash, and 4 camera’s.  They feel great and using them a soothing experience. This set is about creating, thinking, measuring and composing.

With the F5 though I feel the rough power, the technical possibilities and they are fueling my creativity already.
Street photography and extreme macro are a few subjects that come to mind. Simply having the camera around here, when I tie up Sweetheart. I want to shoot a dozen Shibari images for an exposition I want to do in our club in Antwerp.

Nikon F5 review by Tom Hogan
Nikon F5 review by Ken Rockwell. Hell, why not.

 

2 thoughts on “New BF”

  1. Congrats on acquiring that bad boy I like you had an F100 bloody loved it but migrated back to manual only kit. I am sure you’ll enjoy it immensely and I look forward to seeing the results in due course.

    Like

    1. Thank you Martin. I’ll still be doing lots of manual stuff, I like the way it slows me down. And the F5 will also have a time and a place it my photography workflow. The focusing speed, even on older AF-lenses is wicked!

      Like

Comments are closed.