Frogs and frogspawn


Saturday, March 26.
It is not even 8 in the morning on a weekend and I am awake. Even after a short night. Had to get up at 03:00, dropped Little A., my youngest daughter, at her school. Waved at her when the bus left the parking lot. She was to busy with her friends to notice me. Parents are quickly forgotten.  Malines, Brussels, Calais,the train, Dover, Brighton, Stonehenge, Oxford, Canterbury, London and back by boat.

I am happy for her, it will be a great experience. Yet I’ll be happy to hold her close to me next week.
After all these are dangerous times.

She has my old Olympus E-PM1 and the kit lens to help her collect memories. I am pretty sure she won’t use the camera though. Her generation shoots with a cellular phone.

Back in bed at 05:05 but it was hard to fall asleep again. Would have love the company of Sweetheart. I am not saying we would have slept though.

This morning I went for a walk in the nearby woods.

It is cold, windy and overcast. Found this pool filled with frogspawn. A zillion eggs, predators, chance and luck. Only a few frogs will make it.

Frogspawn (2016) Nikon F5 with 70-300 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X
Frogspawn (2016)
Nikon F5 with 70-300 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X

The promise of new life is now everywhere. In the water, in the trees and little buds breaking open the soil to expand, soon, colorful petals.

Frog (2016) Nikon F5 with 70-300 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X
Frog (2016)
Nikon F5 with 70-300 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X

I like the Kodak Tri-X, its grain and look ‘n feel. Not enough though to switch. I’m sticking with Ilford HP5+ It is film that I know and feel.

 

One thought on “Frogs and frogspawn”

Comments are closed.