For old times’ sake


When I look back at the seventies I smile. When I dig a little deeper in my memories it wasn’t all that good. It was a decade where I lost my father, my grandmother and my grandfather.
When that era ended I was an insecure, pimply young adult.

I was a happy eleven-year-old in 1970. Then, in the summer of 1972, I became a very sad, lonely and lost kid. My father, 64, passed away. Nothing would ever be the same and even now, writing these words, I feel my eyes burn with tears.

Then there was the photography art school and I graduated in 1979. I found work immediately, in a photo lab, where I became soon specialized in manual color enlargements for professional photographers. They liked what I did but I did not like it a bit.
Soon after I would spend my 10 months in the Belgian army. With that started another decade. I would do lab work, aerial photography and tabletop photography. I did a great job because they asked if I wanted to join the army as a pro.
Sir, no thanks, Sir.

Photography Art school.
Polaroid, Cibachrome, a zillion types of photographic paper, films, developers. Camera’s I could only dream of. I became a Nikon aficionado but in the end it is only a tool.

Developed everything that could be developed.
Imagine opening your tank, getting out a wet Agfa Chrome slide-film, giving it 1 minute with a 500 Watt lamp, then trying to get it back on the spiral for further developing.
Cibachrome, holy cow, the results you could get with it!

I had this book and it was my bible. It was filled with personal notes. “Handboek zwartwit-fotografie” by Gerard de Jong. I think the title is quite obvious, even in English.

It is about black & white photography and much of it I know. There is some darkroom processing with materials that do not exist anymore. Come to think of it, the book is just a beginner’s book.

It meant a lot to me back in the seventies. It was a companion, a friend, a bible.

Then I lost it.
Gave it away, threw it away or simply lost it.

The book stayed on my mind, surfacing from time to time as a first love tends to do. I missed it, not because of its contents but for what it used to be for me.

A few weeks ago I stumbled across the book on a second hand website.
Oh my god.

This evening I have held the book in my hands and it touched me more than I can say. So many memories reappeared.
As a matter of a fact it is lying on my desk, next to the keyboard I am typing on.

It is in pristine condition.
It is outdated.
It smells like old books tend to smell.

I leafed through the book and there I was, back again an insecure pimply kid living in a horrible decade.

Holding this book though makes me feel like it was the best time of my life.

I am so happy I can hold this book in my hand again.
Time machines to exist!

IMG_0437
 

 

3 thoughts on “For old times’ sake”

  1. I remember seeing my first Cibachrome prints in the late 1970’s they were really something else. I didn’t enjoy the 70’s either, glad to have gotten them out the way.

    Like

  2. I loved the sweeping emotion in this post. There are a few relics of my life that do the same to conjure up memories as vivid as living them again. So glad you can have this one to hold.

    Like

Comments are closed.