HAL


I love this one very much. The gritty concrete on the foreground, the industry on the background. There is the sharp contrast between the clean energy produced by the wind mills and the nuclear power plant of Doel.

This is what I like to shoot. I have no idea how this is called. Is it urban landscape? Industrial landscape?

I feel very at home in this vast loneliness of industry and concrete.

I left the image open in Lightroom and went for a walk. Bought a book, Andy Warhols Roadtrip by Deborah Davis.

Back home I opened a bottle of wine and enjoyed a glass of Cabernet Sauvignon. Looked at the photograph again. Felt there was something missing. It was to much about how it looked not how I felt when I took the shot.

I like a gritty look so I played around with some of the whistles and bells in Lightroom.  Then I came to a point where I wasn’t sure which version I liked the most. The second has more light in it, looks and feels grittier but I am afraid I overdid it. So I asked Little A. and Sweetheart for their opinion. Both liked the second version.

Yes I know, loved ones are not always the best judges and maybe Little A. and Sweetheart know me to well. I was happy they found the second version better though. It has punch, balls, grittiness and so much more.

HAL - second version (2016) Nikon F5 with Nikon 24-120 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X
HAL –  (2016)
Nikon F5 with Nikon 24-120 VR and loaded with Kodak Tri-X

 

4 thoughts on “HAL”

  1. I like this, I might have been tempted to have shot the image wide open with the intention of blurring that backdrop which really would have made Hal jump from the screen. That said I suspect you’d thought of that but perhaps that lens combo wouldn’t provide it, I still love it.

    Like

    1. I shot this with a 24 mm (-120mm VR 3.5-5.6) so blurring out the backdrop was not an option and I did not consider it as I wanted to create a frame in a frame with the nuclear power plant in it and I found the graffiti to add to the desolation. I saw it as some kind of sign of human presence. And of course I guess I noticed HAL because I love the movie 2001 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.