A New Camera


Once upon a time I loved shooting with long telephoto lenses. Looking at a landscape and then pulling out a detail. Or shoot a landmark from far away.

Now I prefer wide-angle and I love to get as close as I can. My Nikon 24-120 VR, not the best lens around, has become my main lens. I also own a 35-105 Nikon, better optics, but I don’t use it that much.

My Nikon lenses are not fast glass at all. I do own a few f2.8 primes and a f1.8 50mm but that’s it. I’ve been on the lookout for a 24 or 28 Nikon lens but they don’t come cheap. And I do not have a full frame digital Nikon so the 24 or 28 will be 1,5x due to the crop factor.

A fast 24mm or 28mm for my Olympus OMD would set me back 600€+

A few days ago I was browsing trough a zillion shots I made when I temporarily lived in Antwerp. That was 7 to 6 years ago and I took most of my shots with a Canon G10. I loved that camera and I had it on me all the time. It did not have fast glass and it was only a small sensor but, well, for small prints the camera delivered.

Untitled (2016) Ricoh GR II f2.8 at 28mm - ISO 100
Untitled (2016)
Ricoh GR II
f2.8 at 28mm – ISO 100

Then it broke and I replaced it with an Olympus EPM-1 and after a while with the OMD-M10. I like the camera but for some reason it is rarely my first choice.

After some deep soul-searching I came to the conclusion I was in the market for a small yet powerful compact camera.  I added the idea of a fixed lens, preferably a 24 or 28mm, and did some searching on the net. The camera would also need to be a good performer in low-light situations.

Rubbish (2016) Ricoh GR II f2.8 at 28mm - ISO 100
Rubbish (2016)
Ricoh GR II
f2.8 at 28mm – ISO 100

It became very soon clear to me the Ricoh GR II would be the ideal camera for me. Not to replace the Nikons, digital or analogue or the Olympus kit, digital or analogue, but as a whole new way of seeing and thus photographing.

Waste (2016) Ricoh GR II f2.8 at 28mm - ISO 100
Waste (2016)
Ricoh GR II
f2.8 at 28mm – ISO 100

A few reviews on the Ricoh GR II
by Eric Kim
by Ephotozine
by Steve Huff

I almost changed my mind when I read about the Fuji X70.

Why the GR II?
It feels great in my hands and operating the camera feels very natural. I can operate it with one hand yet it has enough options to offer enough latitude to experiment. Small, black and unobtrusive.
It fits in the back pocket of my jeans and when the camera is off the lens is retracted.

The Fuji X70 did not feel good in my hands and looked too much “bling bling”. I don’t need all the software filters this camera has.

After an hour in the woods and having shot some 80 photographs I can say I like the Ricoh GR II very much. Focus is quick, access to the main futures of the camera easy. The images are razor-sharp as the camera has not anti alias filter. Having a moving lcd screen would have been nice but I didn’t really miss it.

Chair (2016) Ricoh GR II f2.8 at 28mm - ISO 100 Post-processing in Lightroom
Chair (2016)
Ricoh GR II
f2.8 at 28mm – ISO 100
Post-processing in Lightroom

The DNG-files offer enough data to correct and adjust the image. I tried the build-in b&w filters and they are great but I prefer converting in post-processing.

I need to get used to shooting with a fixed 28mm lens though, as the approach to your subject, any subject, is different.

This is the camera I’ll be taking with me on the street photography workshop next week.

I am curious how this camera will find a place in my photography and how my vision will be impacted by limiting myself to a fixed wide-angle lens.

My Ricoh GR II Shot with Olympus OMD M10 with Lumix f1.7/20mm
My Ricoh GR II
Shot with Olympus OMD M10 with Lumix f1.7/20mm
7 thoughts on “A New Camera”

  1. Hmm…I am still thinking on my end….I need to wander into B&H and absorb the options. My camera desires got pushed off with Life. Listening/Reading/Absorbing. Thanks.

    Like

    1. When I went to the store I compared the GR II with the Fuji X70 albeit I had set my mind on the Ricoh. The Fuji is a beautiful looking camera and on some points better than the Ricoh. But the Ricoh felt great and familiar in my hands. The GR II suited perfectly what I wanted in a new camera. That is what it is about… getting the right tool for 80% of your work. The first step is to find out what the 80% is about 😉

      Like

      1. OK, I am committing to you that I will go to B&H and start sorting, looking and handling the cameras. Time to get moving on it. Maybe M will come with me.

        Like

  2. It’s been a pleasure to go over some over your earlier posts and read your notes and see your images. (I’ll comment here because you and I are similar in that we both recently purchased a Ricoh GRII.) I got mine shortly after you got yours and both of our worlds seem have to exploded into new opportunities. You, like I, seem to be discovering how therapeutic and mindful street shooting is, whether or not you get the shot. I had already done a bit of street photography, but it was with a micro four-thirds camera and not the ingeniously compact and ninja-like Ricoh–and wow, what a different it makes…. Anyway, just felt like dropping you a note, as we appear to share some things in common and it’s very interesting on my end. I hope you are coming along well and I look forward to more of your posts. Cheers.

    Like

    1. 🙂 Thank you for you interesting comment and nice and much appreciated compliment. I agree when it comes to the Ricoh as I did also use the Olympus OM-D M10 but it did not work out well. I found it, compared to the Ricoh, slow and cumbersome and the tilting LCD not an added value. Street photography has opened a whole lot of new adventures for me and yes, it is kind also of therapeutic. Walking the streets, the chasing, the observing do things with me I cannot explain yet. It is much more soothing though than getting up early an try to shoot a decent landscape. I do like you work too, it seems to connect with what I am doing. Like you wrote, we share some common things.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.