Workshop street photography – Practice


Saturday, April 23, 2016

I enjoyed the 3 hours street photography practice in Antwerp Central Station very much and got some very useful tips from our instructor.
He made me look at street photography from a different angle. Finding a spot and waiting there hoping for a picture to happen is something I a going to try next time. I am more into walking around and hunting for good images, a different approach altogether.

Much to Little A.’s  disapproval I made my first shots on the train already.

Sleepy (2016) Ricoh GR II at f2.8 - 160 ISO
Sleepy (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f2.8 – 160 ISO

I did not feel uncomfortable shooting people and even coming close to them. Mostly they were busy doing whatever do they did not notice me.

Also I approached a few interesting looking people and asked them if I could get their picture. They all said yes and I got some good stuff. The red-headed lady for example posed for me.
I did not feel awkward coming close and talking to strangers but it is not in my nature and I would never have believed I would find the courage.
I guess I am very motivated.

Red haired beauty (2016) Ricoh GR II at f3.5 - 400 ISO
Red haired beauty (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f3.5 – 400 ISO

I shot little over 200 frames and threw away quite a lot. Most of the bad images were blurry. I had my Ricoh GR II in aperture priority and shot between f2.8 and f4. Auto ISO was set to 3200 ISO max. To my big surprise the camera picked very slow shutter speeds, 1/15 and 1/40 in order to keep ISO low. Next time I’ll use a setting where aperture and speed are selected and ISO changes accordingly.

I love the camera though. It is small and feels like an extension of my hand already.

I’ll be posting some more images in the next few days.

I had lots of fun, learned a bunch and I’m sure I’ll be chasing the streets more often.

Lightspot (2016) Ricoh GR II at f3.5 - 400 ISO
Lightspot (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f3.5 – 400 ISO

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Workshop street photography – Practice”

Comments are closed.