Thoughts – April 24, 2016


Wow do I feel good today. I feel like reborn. Hell, I can’t wait to get back on the streets. Can’t wait to start my project about the underprivileged in my home town.

I feel reborn because I have found something new in photography. I got a little fed up with landscapes and the next good-looking tree. There is nothing wrong with that kind of photography, but I really needed something new.

The workshop came at the right time and the instructor, Glenn, inspiring.

It is obvious I have to find my voice, my input and my style but somehow I feel the latter is steadily developing. The gritty black & white suits me well, not only my vision but also a part of my personality.

The only thing I regret is that I did not take a film camera with me. But next time, when I hit the streets, I will. The camera will be loaded with HP 5+ and probably pushed a stop or two.

Next weekend Sweetheart and I are heading to the Ardennes for a much-needed two-day together. I’ll be showing her the Ninglinspo Valley. Much to my surprise I booked a hotel at Banneux without knowing Banneux is a place of pilgrimage. It is not our world at all but I hope Sweetheart will be okay for a short visit. I’m thinking this could also be a very good spot for street photography.

I do have my heroes in street photography and without wanting to brag I got a comment and a like from the Chicago based street photographer Chuck Jines.
That really made my day and made me very happy.

Walking by (2016) Ricoh GR II at f3.5 and ISO 400
Walking by (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f3.5 and ISO 400
5 thoughts on “Thoughts – April 24, 2016”

Comments are closed.