Thoughts – April 25, 2016

Change of plans.

These past two weeks I’ve been reminding Sweetheart occasionally about the deadline for our weekend. Deadline meaning the date I can’t cancel anymore.

Not because I don’t want to go on weekend with Sweetheart, au contraire. As an outsider I’ve noticed how Sweetheart’s eldest daughter was sliding downhill again. I’m not going to elaborate but Stella suffers from severe psychosis. She barely manages to live alone and her 3-year old, Star, a burden. Sweetheart is in fact a foster-parent for her own grand-child.

Yesterday evening Sweetheart told me over the phone Stella was thinking of going into admission because she couldn’t handle it anymore.

Sweetheart’s kids are more than willing to take care of Star so their mother can enjoy some time off but they are not experienced enough to handle Stella in crisis.

The obvious thing to do was to cancel our weekend which I did while on the phone with my Love.
After that I drove Little A. to boarding school and then, later that evening, Sweetheart phoned again. We talked some more about out “lost” weekend and then suddenly she said, “hell, I could have asked my sister to babysit”.

Not even an hour later Sweetheart phoned me again telling me her daughter was feeling 100% fine again.

This morning Sweetheart contacted her sister and she was more than happy to assist the home front so we could enjoy our weekend.

I choose a different destination, something more desolate, a little rougher when weather isn’t very good.

I’m taking Sweetheart to Zeeland, no, not New-Zeeland, but Zeeland in the Netherlands. We’ll be staying in a posh hotel not far from Zierikzee and Middelburg and near quite some interesting places to visit. It is about nature, below sea-level polders, cute little villages, a few interesting towns and desolate landscapes where I’m thinking long exposures if we/I have time.

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 17.58.48

So what will be in my camera bag?

The Ricoh GR II of course. I am really enjoying this little yet powerful camera. Being limited to 28mm is quite a challenge.

As backup I’ll be taking an Olympus OM-1n for black and white and an Olympus OM-10 for color. A 50mm f1.4, a 28mm f3,5 a Vivitar 200mm f4 and some film. A light meter of course and a tripod.

I’m thinking though that the Ricoh will be my main camera. I’ll be using it in both native 28mm and then the cropped but not interpolated settings of 35mm and 47mm.

Driving & taking pictures = dangerous (2016) Ricoh GR II at f2.8 - ISO 100 and playing with Nik Analog Efex Pro 2
Driving & taking pictures = dangerous (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f2.8 – ISO 100 and playing with Nik Analog Efex Pro 2

 

Sharp dressed man

I noticed this gentleman when I left Antwerp Central Station. He was standing in the beautiful hall waiting for somebody.

There was something about this guy that caught my eye. The hat maybe, or his shoes or wooden walking stick.

I approached him, smiled and asked if I could take his picture.
It was no problem whatsoever and after that we talked for a while.

This is stuff I wouldn’t have done a year ago. Now, for some reason, I feel like I have been shooting on the streets for ages. I am pretty sure I’ll get even some better portraits soon as I have overcome my fear of approaching another human being.

Maybe I could have made more from this special moment but the fact I did it is a victory already.

Posh (2016) Ricoh GR II at f3.5 - ISO 1100

Sharp dressed man (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f3.5 – ISO 1100