Ricoh GR II


I bought a Ricoh GR II exactly two weeks ago and boy, do I love this camera. There is so much power and image quality packed in what looks like a cheap point and shoot.

This is not yet another review, there is enough of that already.

Before acquiring this camera, I read and watched quite some reviews. I knew what I was buying and most important why.

I used it for the street photography workshop. While shooting I never checked the screen for the result. I wanted to stay focused on the environment. No distraction, go with the flow, observe, look, shoot.
I set the camera in Aperture priority and Auto ISO in a range from 100 to 3200.

Back home, looking at my images, I became disappointed. Quite some images suffered from motion blur. I’m guessing I would not have noticed it on the screen of the camera but I would have frowned my eyebrows with the settings the camera used. But as I did not chimp…

This one for example.

GR-II_23042016_045-Edit

Not a very good shot at all but it shows what I find to be an issue. Bright light, f4 at 1/40 (!!!) at ISO 250. The camera the guy is holding is completely blurred.

Halfway the morning, while composing,  I suddenly noticed the low shutter speed and decided and switched to TAV-mode. You set the aperture and shutter speed and the camera sets ISO accordingly. That saved my day.

I lived under the impression I had done something wrong, overlooked an important setting in the camera’s menu. After all I had not read anything about this in any (video)review.

Yesterday evening, I stumbled across a video preview of the Ricoh GR II by an Aussie bloke, Blunty.
In his review “RICOH GR Hands-on Review – IT’S A NINJA CAMERA!!!” he mentions (at 05:00) what I experienced and thinks this conservative way of keeping the ISO low and having a slow shutter speed is because a lot of street shooters appreciate blurriness in their images. Good to know but I don’t.

Except for this small glitch I simply love this camera and I keep it with me at all times. Like I mentioned in previous posts the fixed wide-angle makes me look at the world in a different way as it has an important influence on the way I compose an image.

The macro mode is awesome and in combination with the pinpoint focusing mode you can really create some stunning images.

I like the dynamic of “Hurried”.
Yes, it is blurry but not that much. I added a high-pass filter on the image and that helped.

This image was made at f4 at ISO 250 and 1/40. Yet the sun was shining through the glass roof and there was lots of light. For this kind of action 1/40 is way to slow.

Hurried (2016) Ricoh GR II at f4, iSO 250 and 1/40
Hurried (2016)
Ricoh GR II at f4, ISO 250 and 1/40

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

