Thoughts – May 09, 2016

2nd Week at home. Going back to work this Thursday.
I’ve been diagnosed with something I did not even know existed. Yet it is one of these things that affect people in modern society.  It can lead to depression or a burn-out, two things I’ve faced in the past and know how devastating they can be. Especially the latter.

I “suffer” from a bore-out. The link to Wikipedia explains it much better than I could do in this short blog post.

Searching for a new job is senseless. I am way to old. So I have to find something that pleasures me, that gives me intense satisfaction. Yes Sweetheart, you already do all that.

So I have been soul-searching, reading a few books about how (my) photography could help me find a fresh start in my life, aside from my job. A few YouTube clips and a couple of documentary films on William Eggleston inspired me to look at the mundane, the everyday stuff.

A free an extremely well made and written eBook by Eric Kim, 100 Lessons From The Master of Street Photography, has been a huge inspirational source for me. Read it, even if you are not into street photography.

This morning I went to the Monday Market twice and shot about 120 frames with my Ricoh GR II. For this I used the Snap-mode set a 1,5 meter, in TAV meaning I decide aperture and shutter speed. As it was sunny I dialed in f9 giving me a depth of field between 75 cm and infinity. Snap means you are working in hyperfocal.

Me and the others (2016) Ricoh GR II
Me and the others (2016)
Ricoh GR II

I enjoyed walking and shooting on this very busy market. At this moment I guess I have about 4 keepers.

Meet 'n greet (2016) Ricoh GR II
Meet ‘n greet (2016)
Ricoh GR II

In the afternoon I went to the woods and enjoyed walking and some point & shoot photography. Hell, I’m taking pictures for my own pleasure.

I’m doing what I like and enjoy doing.

Mirror (2016) Ricoh GR II
Mirror (2016)
Ricoh GR II
