Thoughts – June 4, 2016


Saturday, June 4.

It is gray outside, kind of misty too. And very damp. It has been raining on and off for days on a row. Some areas of Belgium suffered more than others but my thoughts go to the people in France and Germany as weather is even worse there with multiple deaths.

I hope it stays dry today. This afternoon my town hosts a relatively important bicycle race. Years ago I loved shooting the racers but then got bored. I even lost interest in photographing the derny races they used to organize in my small town.

Derny Festival (2009) Nikon D300 and Sigma 100-300 f4
Derny Festival (2009)
Nikon D300 and Sigma 100-300 f4

Today will be different as I’ll be hitting the streets again. Not for the race itself but I’m thinking this will be a great opportunity to do some street photography.

Derny Festival (2009) Nikon D300 and Sigma 100-300 f4
Derny Festival (2009)
Nikon D300 and Sigma 100-300 f4

I’ll be taking my Ricoh GR II with me and the Olympus OMD M10 with a small zoom so I can isolate interesting stuff when I can’t get close enough.

Something else I have started doing is making long walks through my village, discovering streets I don’t walk into. I am trying to train my eye in discovering beauty in the unobtrusive. I noticed I am drawn towards certain things and maybe, over time, this will lead to a project. We’ll see, I am trying very hard to go with the flow.

Another thing I started doing is not looking at my shots immediately but rather wait a few days, a week, before looking at them. That way I tend to be more objective as I have lost the emotional connection. Often the emotional connection makes the shot more interesting, more special than it really is.

Old lady (2009)
Old lady (2009)

 

One thought on “Thoughts – June 4, 2016”

Comments are closed.