Portrait of a dog


From all the shots I took during the bicycle race this is the one I prefer.
Don’t get me wrong, I am not a dog person, rather a cat person. It is not about the subject but about the overall look and feel.

But the fact that everybody is looking in the direction of the racers except for the dog makes this a fun image. I like how the light falls on its fur and the expression of the animal.

This is one of my most favorite street photographs. Maybe I should have pointed a little more to the right though, the guy with the white vest, maybe his face should have also been in the frame.

I have been shooting almost exclusively with the Ricoh GR II since I got the camera a few months ago and it pays.

I have the camera in my fingers, understand how it works and thinks. The Ricoh has become an extension of my eye. The 28mm a distinct view on how I observe.

I have learned to come very close to my subject. Even very close the 28mm is still wide enough to show the surroundings of my main subject to tell a story, to show what it is all about.

Untitled (2016) Ricoh GR II
Untitled (2016)
Ricoh GR II
