REBLOG – Street photography ethics and respect


Just this morning I ran across this, in my humble opinion, excellent article on ethics and respect in street photography.  It reflects very well my personal thoughts on the matter.  It was written by UK-based photographer Nicholas Goodden. He has an interesting website and a blog that is worth to glance through.

There are links to very interesting and related articles at the end of his post. Don’t skip them.

Street Photography Ethics and Respect

Street photography ethics are a touchy subject and I am not talking of street photography rules but rather more how photographers choose to behave. When shooting (candid) street photography in London or anywhere else, many street photographers seem to leave their values at home as soon as they head out to photograph strangers.

I have for quite a long time tried to put on paper my honest and more recent thoughts on street photography and my views on the attitude some opt for.

Street photography in the way it’s practiced can sometimes have a less attractive side, often displayed by photographers through a lack of empathy with their subject, a lack of respect and justifying their actions in a way or another, usually by stating street photography is not illegal so it’s alright.

Well I’m sure we can think of a few “legal” things that aren’t really acceptable.

CONTINUE READING HERE

One thought on “REBLOG – Street photography ethics and respect”

Comments are closed.