That damned smartphone


There is nothing more soothing than being just a guy with a camera. It is my third eye and a way to express myself. Sometimes though it is not clear, even to me, what that message is.

All I know is that Sweetheart and my camera of the day keep me sane. The latter is not true as the Ricoh GR II has become an extension of my body, my thoughts, my eye. I have never owned a camera that inspires me so much, motivates me to shoot every day.  The camera is so small, offers so much professional grade possibilities. Yet I can program it to do exactly what I want it to do.

The 28mm lens is sometimes limiting but it has definitively changed me, not only in the way that I photograph but also at how I look and experience my direct surroundings.

With a simple button I can switch to 35mm and 47mm. The camera then crops the image accordingly so it is not really an optical 35mm or 47mm.
It does not bother me though.
It is the final result that counts, not how you got there.

That damned phone (2016) Ricoh GR II
That damned phone (2016)
Ricoh GR II

 

Save

