Murphy


I own a few ND1000 filters but I don’t use them that much. I have also several step-up  rings. So a 72mm filter and a handful step-up rings go a long way.
A ND1000 filter equals 10 stops.

A few days ago I tried a 49mm ND1000, a step-up ring and a 72mm ND1000 setup on my Ricoh GR II. That worked fine and on a bright and sunny day I got my shutter speed as low as 30 seconds. The Ricoh GR II has also a build in 2 stop ND filter.

Under the bridge (2016) Ricoh GR II, with two ND1000 filters. 240" at f4 and ISO 100
Under the bridge (2016)
Ricoh GR II, with two ND1000 filters. 240″ at f4 and ISO 100

Yesterday I wanted to do some long exposures. Normally I would drive to the Netherlands. Getting there is no problem but coming back is a big issue due to road works and no real good detour possible.

I decided to go to a nearby city where there is some light industry near a canal.  I also felt like doing some film photography so I took my Olympus OM-2n and a few lenses with me.

After finding an interesting spot I mounted my Ricoh GR II on a sturdy tripod, framed a shot, put everything in manual mode and screwed on the 49mm ND1000 and then the 49/72mm step-up ring.
Sure enough I had the wrong filter with me. The second ND1000 filter was a 62mm.
Fuck.

Eventually I managed to hold the ND-filter against the step-up ring with a rubber lens hood. Reversing it somehow managed to keep the second filter flat against the step-up ring.

Concrete factory (2016) Ricoh GR II with two ND1000 filters. 30" at f8 and ISO 100
Concrete factory (2016)
Ricoh GR II with two ND1000 filters. 30″ at f8 and ISO 100

I experimented with exposures and 60″ at about f8  did the job. I was happy I had found a way to keep the 2nd ND filter in place.

Got the Olympus OM-2n out of my bag, mounted a 28mm f2,8 on it, framed and took a shot. Up went the mirror and that was that.
Fuck again.
Pushed the lever to reset/check and the mirror came down again. Everything seemed okay but when I pressed the shutter button a second time the mirror went up and again that was that.

It didn’t take long for me to find out the batteries of the camera were exhausted. I had a fresh pair but unfortunately they were lying on my desk at home.

So no film photography and quite a lot fiddling with filters when using the Ricoh GR II.

What an afternoon! I really had come unprepared. A good lesson though.

Soon the sun faded and dark clouds flew in. Light dropped dramatically to a level where one ND1000 filter was enough. I did a few more shots but then it started to rain so I called it a day.

Untitled (2016) Ricoh GR II with two ND1000 filters. 60" at f3,2 and ISO 400
Untitled (2016)
Ricoh GR II with two ND1000 filters. 60″ at f3,2 and ISO 400

Save

Save

7 thoughts on “Murphy”

  1. These are great! I like the first one and the last one the best. I don’t have any ND filters, but hope to acquire some soon. Sorry about your luck on the OM2. That’s one reason I love the all mechanical shutter on my two OM1s.

    Like

    1. Thank you for stopping by. I have also an OM and an OM-1 but they are loaded with different types of film. Yep, i felt kind of stupid having fresh batteries lying on my desk and not in my bag. Playing with long exposures is fun but don’t forget that with film you’ll have to take in account the reciprocity failure. Very cheap ND-filters also tend to have a reddish color cast. I’ll be more than happy to help you out if you wish.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the offer! When I am ready to make that purchase, I will definitely ask for your input. I am leaning toward a Lee filter setup.

        Like

Comments are closed.