Holga 120WPC


I stumbled across this Holga 120-WPC pinhole camera on a well-known Belgian secondhand site. I got it for 29,90 Euro, shipping costs included. New, never used and in its original box.

On the official Holga site this camera is presented for little over 100 USD but is marked sold out.

I payed and waited for several days. I did not get any confirmation of payment or a tracking code in order to follow the package and my mails were not answered.

I have excellent experienced with this site and I did not think anyone would con someone for a mere 30 Euro. Finally I phoned mobile number I got with the account number and address. It rang several times and then a voice told me this number was not available. It did not mean a thing. I have my voicemail set up in a similar way. No name, no indication that I am away or whatsoever.

I googled the address and it existed albeit it was a shabby little house with a huge sign on it telling it was for sale. That did not indicate anything either as these images from Google Streetview were not made yesterday.

Another mail. No answer. Then I spoke a message into the voicemail and got an answer by mail telling me the seller was sorry for the delay, was not at the airport but would ask his little brother to put it in the mail the same day. I would receive the package the next day.

After 3 more days I thought, well okay, this was bound to happen one day. Bye bye 30 Euro and may Karma fuck you 30 times over.

It came yesterday, Friday, and of course I was not at home so the mailman left me a message telling me I could collect my parcel today.

Badly wrapped and the 6×9 mask is missing so I’ll be stuck with 6×12 but that does not matter. The camera seems to be new and in working order. I’ll be taking it for a spin this afternoon.

Yes I know, it is me. I can be very impatient sometimes and I tend to think bad things happen. I am also used to quick actions on this site so this more “lazy/carpe diem” person got me all wound up.

Why this camera? First of all I am always looking for new ways to push myself, to try new things and not to become lazy and always shoot with the same camera as I have been doing for months now with the excellent Ricoh GR II. Also I would like to experiment with long exposures more.
And work more with film as I have indeed become lazy with the Ricoh.

Image by http://blurdotblog.com/2009/01/holga-120-wpc-wide-pinhole-camera/
Image by http://blurdotblog.com/2009/01/holga-120-wpc-wide-pinhole-camera/

The Holga 120-WPC is a film camera, takes 120 rolls and offers long exposure panorama’s at 6×12 and 6×9. Here are the specs

Image by http://blurdotblog.com/2009/01/holga-120-wpc-wide-pinhole-camera/
Image by http://blurdotblog.com/2009/01/holga-120-wpc-wide-pinhole-camera/

Lens Type: 0.30mm Pinhole
Focus Mode: Adjustable / Zone Focus (Portrait/Small Group/Big Group/Infinity)
Flash: None
Native Film Format: 120 Medium Format
Aperture Settings: f/133
Viewfinder: Eye Level Direct
Tripod Mount: Yes
Bulb (Long) Exposure: Yes
Power: No batteries required
Dimensions: 210x56x96mm
Weight: 220g
Accessories Included: 1 Take Up Spool, 2 Film Frame Masks (6x9cm and 6x12cm) and 1 Strap
Shots/Roll: 8 (Using 6x12cm mask) or 12 (Using 6x9cm mask)
Recommended Film: ASA100 (Sunny) or ASA400 (Cloudy/Indoors)
Shutter: Leaf, 1/100s

Monday I’m going back to work and in 3 weeks I have another 2 weeks free. I hope to play with this camera as soon as possible.

Holga 120WPC Image from https://dreuxsawyer.wordpress.com/category/pinhole-photography/
Holga 120WPC
Image from https://dreuxsawyer.wordpress.com/category/pinhole-photography/

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Holga 120WPC”

Comments are closed.